Subscribe   Submit Work   Log In

The Smashing Pumpkins - Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness This work has been published in the Teen Ink monthly print magazine.

By Review by Jim B., Brooklyn, NY

   The Smashing Pumpkins burst into the alternative mainstream with their 1993 release, ASiamese Dream." Although they already had two albums under their belt, before this album, they were relatively unknown outside their hometown of Chicago. Headed by lead vocalist/guitarist Billy Corgon, the band is also composed of James Iha on guitar, D'arcy on bass, and Jimmy Chamberlain on drums. "Siamese Dream" sold over three million copies. In 1994, The Pumpkins released "Pisces Iscariot," a collection of b-sides from previous singles and previously unreleased material. Because of the lack of new material, many people shied away from it.

"Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness" was released in October. The most striking feature is its 28 new songs, divided onto two discs, subtitled "Dawn to Dusk" and "Twilight to Starlight.

Page 1 of 2


Share this article:

Share on Facebook   Share on Google+   Share on Twitter


Join the discussion

1 comment(s)
i love this so much!
Jan. 10, 2018 at 11:49 PM • Report